Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Crew Re-Sign Meram, Anor

Today's announcement that the Columbus Crew (SC*) have re-signed Justin Meram and Bernardo Anor means that the roster is now up to 26 players. One more than the rumored 25 (--) that the new 2015 CBA will allow and 14 more than can be protected in the upcoming MLS Expansion Draft** (**a bunch of rules may apply).

Anor and Meram putting pen to paper gives some of the longer, near term fans of the team warm fuzzies. Partly because they are familiar names but also because they are what's become known as "old heads." With that, here is when everybody joined the team.

2010 - 1
Josh Williams

2011 - 4
Bernardo Anor
Eric Gehrig (--being worked on)
Justin Meram
Tony Tchani

2012 - 6
Ethan Finlay
Kevan George
Federico Higuain
Matt Lampson
Aaron Schoenfeld
Ben Speas

2013 - 3
Chad Barson
Waylon Francis
Wil Trapp
Tyson Wahl

2014 - 10
Waylon Francis
Adam Bedell
Steve Clark
Romain Gall
Hector Jimenez
Michael Parkhurst
Emanuel Pogatetz
Brad Stuver
Ben Swanson
Ben Sweat

2015 - 2
Mohammed Saeid
Kei Kamara

*Trying to get use to adding SC. Also; Anor is the one of the true footballers on the team. He should always be on the roster.

1 comment:

vidda grubin said...


Thanks for the update!

The Crew have, arguably, the strongest "core" of any MLS side (those players who rank within their team from #3-#14). The real test of this off-season, after December's "drafts" and 2015's CBA, will be... Are the Columbus Crew SC able to sign 2-3 players who are better than anyone on the current roster.

One such addition would be good. Two such additions would be great and make the Crew a title contender going into the 2015 season. Three such addition...wow!